The Vital Question Book [PDF] Download

Download the fantastic book titled The Vital Question written by Nick Lane, available in its entirety in both PDF and EPUB formats for online reading. This page includes a concise summary, a preview of the book cover, and detailed information about "The Vital Question", which was released on 23 April 2015. We suggest perusing the summary before initiating your download. This book is a top selection for enthusiasts of the Science genre.

Summary of The Vital Question by Nick Lane PDF

Why is life the way it is? Bacteria evolved into complex life just once in four billion years of life on earth-and all complex life shares many strange properties, from sex to ageing and death. If life evolved on other planets, would it be the same or completely different? In The Vital Question, Nick Lane radically reframes evolutionary history, putting forward a cogent solution to conundrums that have troubled scientists for decades. The answer, he argues, lies in energy: how all life on Earth lives off a voltage with the strength of a bolt of lightning. In unravelling these scientific enigmas, making sense of life's quirks, Lane's explanation provides a solution to life's vital questions: why are we as we are, and why are we here at all? This is ground-breaking science in an accessible form, in the tradition of Charles Darwin's The Origin of Species, Richard Dawkins' The Selfish Gene, and Jared Diamond's Guns, Germs and Steel.


Detail About The Vital Question PDF

  • Author : Nick Lane
  • Publisher : Profile Books
  • Genre : Science
  • Total Pages : 569 pages
  • ISBN : 1847658806
  • PDF File Size : 36,7 Mb
  • Language : English
  • Rating : 5/5 from 1 reviews

Clicking on the GET BOOK button will initiate the downloading process of The Vital Question by Nick Lane. This book is available in ePub and PDF format with a single click unlimited downloads.

GET BOOK

The Vital Question

The Vital Question
  • Publisher : Profile Books
  • File Size : 25,5 Mb
  • Release Date : 23 April 2015
GET BOOK

Why is life the way it is? Bacteria evolved into complex life just once in four billion years of life on earth-and all complex life shares many strange properties, from

Power, Sex, Suicide

Power, Sex, Suicide
  • Publisher : OUP Oxford
  • File Size : 37,8 Mb
  • Release Date : 13 October 2005
GET BOOK

Mitochondria are tiny structures located inside our cells that carry out the essential task of producing energy for the cell. They are found in all complex living things, and in

Life Ascending

Life Ascending
  • Publisher : Profile Books
  • File Size : 41,6 Mb
  • Release Date : 01 October 2010
GET BOOK

Winner of the 2010 Royal Society Prize for science books Powerful new research methods are providing fresh and vivid insights into the makeup of life. Comparing gene sequences, examining the atomic

Transformer: The Deep Chemistry of Life and Death

Transformer: The Deep Chemistry of Life and Death
  • Publisher : W. W. Norton & Company
  • File Size : 43,6 Mb
  • Release Date : 12 July 2022
GET BOOK

From the renowned biochemist and author of The Vital Question, an illuminating inquiry into the Krebs cycle and the origins of life. “Nick Lane’s exploration of the building blocks

Vital Questions

Vital Questions
  • Publisher : Reformation Media & Press
  • File Size : 34,9 Mb
  • Release Date : 01 December 2002
GET BOOK

"Vital Questions" examines issues which have enormous influence in shaping the attitudes of our society and the way we think and look at life. Most of us have assumed for

3 Vital Questions

3 Vital Questions
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • File Size : 42,5 Mb
  • Release Date : 26 March 2019
GET BOOK

Finalist, 2019 Indie Book Awards, Careers Category Transform Workplace Drama into Workforce Empowerment! If you have ever experienced infighting, such as a team or a department pitting itself against another team

Oxygen

Oxygen
  • Publisher : Oxford University Press, USA
  • File Size : 34,9 Mb
  • Release Date : 24 April 2024
GET BOOK

Oxygen offers fresh perspectives on our own lives and deaths, explaining modern killer diseases, why we age, and what we can do about it. Advancing revelatory new ideas, following chains

Put Me in a Book!

Put Me in a Book!
  • Publisher : Scholastic Canada
  • File Size : 41,8 Mb
  • Release Date : 01 February 2010
GET BOOK

All the kids want to be in a book -- but it might not be as much fun as they think! On their way home from a field trip, the

The Vital Truth

The Vital Truth
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • File Size : 45,8 Mb
  • Release Date : 01 December 2006
GET BOOK

The Vital Truth: accessing the possibilities of unlimited health is an award winning and global selling book packed with information you may not have considered to help improve your health.